A Visit with Tomiko Yoshino

Yesterday I baked some Banana Blueberry Muffins to take to my neighbor, Tomiko Yoshino. She is 81 years old and lives alone. What I most admire aobut her is her positive “OK, I’ll try it!” attitude about life. I really want to emulate that!

She uses a cane to walk any distance but she doesn’t let it stop her from tending her organic garden. As soon as I got there, she harvested a big bunch of green onions for me!

We met her because of her interest in photography. Do you know that she climbed a mountain in the pitch dark on New Year’s morning to get a picture of the first rising sun of the year!If I borrow her memory card I could share hte originals, but for now I’ll show you my photo of her photo!

She made me realize something at the Christmas party here. She was quite wobbly on her feet that day, so I almost didn’t ask her if she’d like to take a swat at the pinata blindfolded. So I was surprised when she said “Yes!” and took the bat in her hand! She taught me then not to think of what people can’t do or to prejudge but to always believe in their potential.

She is an accomplished photographer and has won 2 awards locally. It’s amazing as she took up photography when she was in her seventies. More than that she is a wonderful human being.  Every time I  meet her, I am astounded by something she says or does that causes me to reflect on the way I act and live my life.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. chrishoneybee
    Mar 08, 2012 @ 09:57:33

    I’ve got a special category on my blog called “Optimists club” where I publish stories about positive-minded people I meet, who know how to live this life 100% fully and with smiles on their faces 🙂 Just like this story about your friend! 🙂 ..that’s what really inspires me! Real people, real lives..

    Reply

  2. kabablanket
    Mar 08, 2012 @ 17:25:25

    Wow….! what an amazing lady. It’s so inspiring to read about her.
    That’s a beautiful, beautiful photograph she took of the rising sun, too.

    Also, I can very much relate to your realization about how you should believe in other people’s potential instead of thinking “that person wouldn’t be into it,” etc. I have been on both ends of the situation, and I know that I always appreciated it when people gave me a shot/chance at it by introducing something new to me, or ask me if I want to join even though they may know that I would probably say “NO.” because you never know!

    Reply

  3. Becky N
    Mar 09, 2012 @ 20:28:28

    I really love people who don’t box themselves in – she sounds like a wonderful neighbor and great model!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

