Hiroo’s Vegan Curry

Moeko gave us a very nice Christmas present: a vegan curry cookbook and all the spices to go with it. It was for the both of us, but he took it over as a new avocation. In Japan, we eat a thick version of curry served over rice. This is good too but now we are enjoying a whole new food. I’ll share the recipe for his Potato and Mushroom Curry.

We became familiar with many spices that we seldom used, such as cardamon and turmeric. He had never really used coriander seeds or cumin seeds as he mainly cooks Japanese food. He is into cooking Indian and I am more than happy to eat it!!

Making the Nan is up to me. Last month I tried this recipe and made Nan for the first time. I was amazed how easy it is! You should definitely try this since you don’t even need an oven!

The curries he cooks contain no meat but you really don’t miss it! The blend of ginger root, garlic, cumin and all the spices is so tantalizing and tasty!

Update!! Tonight ( March 18th)  Hiroo made Chana Curry with chickpeas and tomato! Very spicy and very good! I have a warm feeling in my tummy still.  Be sure to try one of these vegan curries.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. beckynielsen
    Mar 18, 2012 @ 11:02:07

    Hooray for Hiroo! I’m hoping that now that my husband is retired, he might take on such adventures. His background is chemistry, so he should be able to work with recipes.
    These curries look delicious. Will you post the recipes?

    Reply

  2. cheerfulwoman
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 06:39:06

    That sounds good. The first time I tried Indian curry it failed miserably. My husband loves nan, so I will definitely try to make those. I always like when my husband cooks for me, too. (^_^)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

