Easter Brunch Cooking Class

Happy Easter, everyone. A little early? We all enjoyed making this brunch menu and these cute eggs!

This is the fourth Cooking Event I have held at Yasu-ura farm! It was a lot of work and  pressure for preparing so many things . The week before, I came down with a cold so I was feeling, “Can I really go through with this??” Luckily I recovered and had lots of help and encouragement.

Today we all had a great day. The forecast was rain but it let up around 10:00. Everyone who signed up showed up and we had 18 people there, ranging in age from 14 to 70! We made Eggs Benedict, Lemon Poppy Seed Scones and Maple Nut Muffins. It was an ambitious menu that finished with a lovely Chunky Cream of Tomato Soup.

Most of all, the women seemed to enjoy coloring Easter eggs and making a little Easter basket to take home. It was a first time experience and Reiko (pictured below) wrote this comment, ” I feel like I was an American for a day today!”

Yui, who is in junior high, liked the atmosphere  and promised to come back and eat at my counter!! Others commented that the Hollandaise sauce was so good, but more realistically said they’d be likely to try the muffins or soup recipe at home as those seems so easy!

I love doing this as I meet a lot of people for the first time or have a better chance to get acquainted with others I know only casually. I’m thrilled that so many people living out here want to know about American cooking and customs.

In addition, I asked people to mark on their comment paper if they are interested in attending a once a month English Bible Coffee House, and 8 people want to come. It’s free, of course, except 100 yen for the coffee! Our first get-together will be on April 21st. I’m looking forward to having fun in English with these charming ladies!

Having so much fun, I forgot to take pictures of the food. I really couldn’t have done this event by myself. This time special thanks go out to Harue and Naoko, also a big thank you to Tokunaga-san. And I never could do this without the continuing support and prayers from Terumi, Tae and Fumiko! Thank you guys!!

 

Lemon Poppy Seed Scones

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. milliemollymandy
    Mar 31, 2012 @ 15:04:25

    Everything looks so delicious (as usual). I’m going to have a go at making the scones. Your decorated eggs look so much better than my pathetic attempt during Thing a Day – I couldn’t get anything to stick to the eggs properly.
    I’ve passed Hiroo’s curry recipe on to my Mum (as well as a link to your blog so she can follow too).
    Keep it up Leah – I’m really enjoying your blog.

    Reply

  2. beckynielsen
    Mar 31, 2012 @ 15:35:45

    What fun! And the menu sounds delicious. You are a regular ambassador of goodwill in the world. I think it’s so important to find ways to connect with our neighbors. I don’t do enough of it.

    Reply

  3. leahmama1
    Apr 01, 2012 @ 06:11:39

    I can’t claim credit for the eggs. I asked two young women to make a sample and they took over the project and made it into a really fun one!
    The scones are good. Be sure to have softly beaten cream and some berry jam to go with them. My daughter loves the variation using Earl Grey tea ( about 4 tea bags) instead of lemon and poppy seeds. Try that too!!
    Thanks for your encouragement!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

