Smoked Pork at the Farm

Yesterday it rained all day but today the sun came out so I could go ahead with my plans to smoke pork and chicken breasts. I had salted the pork and left it sit uncovered on a tray in the refrigerator to dry out the juices. After about 5 days, I soaked it in a marinade of soy sauce, sugar, sesame oil and garlic for 2 days after which I let it dry again. The chicken breasts were only salted and left uncovered in the frig for 1 day.

This morning I got up and hung the meat to dry in front on an electric fan for 2 hours. Finally I put them on a bar set over a pan of cherry tree chips. That’s what we mostly use in Japan, as we can make the chips ourselves.

At first I had trouble with the set up and the thermometer told me it was only 30 degrees C in the smoker. So I set it more directly over the fire. I use gas and a gas burner set inside a drum can. Finally the temperature rose. I have a meat thermometer which indicates the inside temperature and I smoke the pork until it reads between 57-60 degrees C ( 130-140 degrees F). TodayI kind of overcooked them. But the result seems good. Friends happened to be over for lunch and we sampled the chicken. everyone thought it was pretty good.

Even though it is smoked, I usually freeze the meat and gradually slice it thinly and serve it in sandwiches with dill pickles and hot mustard or as an hors d’oeurve with wine.

Today Kanae Kido came over for lunch. Her husband is an expert at smoking meats, especially his bacon is amazing! He also makes homemade red wine!! After lunch, she took me for a drive to visit her friend who is married ot a master potter in Akitsu.

All in all it was a great day! The men worked on repairing Hiroo’s boat which was damaged in the storm 2 weeks ago. The are seen here in a friend’s rowboat, out trying to find the anchor that was lost in the storm. We really appreciate the support of Kido-san. He knows how to do almost anything!!

We are so fortunate to have met the Kidos and to have become good friends. I look forward to many good times together! I always feel stimulated when I talk to Kanae. She is into so many things: making organic jams, baking cakes for a local cafe and caring for the aigamo ducks they use in growing organic rice. She grows all kinds of vegetables and strawberries, blueberries and mulberries in her mountaintop field.Today she gave us very delicious and sweet-tasting cabbage and this spring’s first broccoli!

I really enjoy talking to her. She appreciates good music, art and books and tells me about many things I don’t know about! I have a lot to learn from her!! (She took this picture of me with the finished product!)

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. beckynielsen
    Apr 12, 2012 @ 11:22:27

    Such a process, and it all sounds very delicious! How are the ducks used in growing the organic rice? Is that to eat little snails and things that might attack the plants?

    Reply

  2. Jennifer
    Jun 06, 2012 @ 16:41:42

    My husband loves cooking outside and he is incredible with smoking meat. Love his smoked ribs and brisket. So good!

    Reply

    • leahmama1
      Jun 06, 2012 @ 21:26:00

      The ribs and brisket sound wonderful! I wish I could buy those in Japan. He must be really good at it! I have never done anything on the bone. It must take longer. Does he use a commercial smoker?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

