The Cake that Fell

A year and a half ago, Hiroo asked me to teach him to bake bread. I thought that was OK and we made sweet rolls and loaves of white bread or  Raisin bread. He is good at bagels and I think his regular English Breakfast Loaves are better than mine. But today we had a rather sad happening.

I was just ready to go down and check on my St Timothy’s Pound Cake when Hiroo met me at the foot of the stairs with a baleful look on his face. “I’m sorry. I broke your cake.”

St Timothy’s Pound Cake

I immediately guessed what had happened. The buzzer went off  and he wanted to be helpful and remove the cakes from the oven. When we take a loaf pan of bread from the oven, we “shock-drop” it to loosen it from the sides of the pan, then immediately dump it out on the rack or bread board. He had tried this with my cakes. Of course, the cakes fell in the center and the one he tried to dump out had actually broken up.

I’d be lying if I didn’t say I was a bit irked. I know he meant well but I’m having company for tea this afternoon and it was almost time for my first English class. I made him take the broken cake with him to the farm. I salvaged the other one and we’ll eat it anyway, right? Can’t waste good food.

Black Sesame Pudding

Then I just had time to make the Black Sesame Pudding for tomorrow’s Bible study. It’s the first time I have tried this recipe and I hope they turn out well. I’ll let you know!!

Consumer Ratings

It was very very good!

Not as sweet as I expected.

           I couldn’t tell the sesame aroma much.

I would like it to be softer and creamier.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. beckynielsen
    Jun 04, 2012 @ 10:06:50

    didn’t know about shock -dropping; will have to try it when I make bread. Poor Hiroo, poor you! but once your party is over it is the kind of story you will get good mileage from, and lots of chuckles from! hthe cake and pudding both look yummy!

    Reply

    • leahmama1
      Jun 04, 2012 @ 22:02:38

      Yeah! It is funny now. It tasted pretty good anyway! What kind of bread do you bake??Also, is it OK to asked by e-mail what town you live in? I just wondered where you are?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

