Pickled Beets

Pickled Beets in a green Salad

Beets are special. Not only do they contain a significant amount of folic acid, they also contain a lot of vitamin C and fiber. Beets have zero trans fat and zero saturated fat. Beets are low calorie and canned beets are inexpensive. And they are delicious.

In summer, we can enjoy Pickled Beets cold out of the refrigerator. Mom always used to put a few hard-boiled eggs in the jar. The eggs look great sliced on a salad and can be preserved for a week or so.

As you know, there is no place in Hiroshima that sells beets but Hiroo grew a few at my request. We enjoyed the beet greens too.

Yesterday I made Pickled Beets, my mother’s recipe which I had copied into this little notebook she gave me 40 years ago. Above, in her handwriting, you can see the recipe fro Harvard Beets, too.

Old recipes

Pickled Beets Recipe

My husband sometimes uses the beet juice from cooking to color our Rhubarb Sauce as he hates to use any artificial coloring.

Mother used 2 cans of beets. Just boil 1 cup cider vinegar, 1 cup of liquid from the canned beets,4 T. sugar, several whole cloves 6 peppercorns and 1/2 a bay leaf. Pour over the sliced beets. Chill. Add hard-boiled eggs if desired. You need a nice big wide-mouthed jar to hold 2 cans of beets and the eggs! I only had a few beets so I made a small jar.

Pickled Beets

Rhubarb

Once when buying rhubarb in a Florida supermarket, the clerk couldn’t ring it up as she didn’t know what it was. Maybe lots of young people have never seen rhubarb. It is kind of like celery but has a reddish cast to it.

I love the tartness in a pie or in this Rhubarb Crisp. We also make Rhubarb Sauce, like a thin jam. Hiroo planted the first plants aobut 8 years ago. Now they have grown and produce 8-10 lbs twice a year. I slice it and freeze it for a pie or dessert.

Rhubarb Crisp

Today I made Rhubarb Crisp for our meeting tomorrow. Few Japanese have heard of it,l let alone tasted it. I got several recipes from the internet and altered one to suit me. I just had a spoonful and it is luscious! It’ll be great with a big scoop of vanilla ice cream on top.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cheerfulwoman
    Jul 20, 2012 @ 21:32:06

    Did you make the pickles using fresh beets? I love canned beets, but I have become wary of them due to the fact that they are lining so many cans with dangerous plastics. I’ve had fresh (raw) beets shredded on salads, but I didn’t grow up with fresh beets and want to learn how to prepare them. Do you have any suggestions?

    Reply

  2. leahmama1
    Jul 21, 2012 @ 07:44:38

    Do not peel or poke any holes in the skin. Cover with water and boil 20-30 minutes depending on the size. Cool a little and peel with your hands under running water. ( The skins slip right off) Save the juice from the pan to keep them in or use in making Pickled Beets. Be sure to cook and eat the beet greens too is they are attached. Boil a couple minutes and eat with a little butter ans salt.

    Reply

    • cheerfulwoman
      Aug 08, 2012 @ 20:33:47

      I tried making the pickled beets today, but I didn’t have cloves… I hope they still taste good! I only had four beets, so I thought I’d go ahead an experiment. Thanks for telling me how to prepare them. I’ll try more with them when I get more beets. (^_^) y

      Reply

Leave a Reply

