Saikoro Bag

Today I made this bag in a little over 2 hours. I had some trouble with turning the straps inside out as the quilted material is so thick. Basically it was easy except when I finally stitched all around the edges. There were no instructions  to tell me in what order I should attach the pieces. Nevertheless. it turned out pretty well.

Saikoro Bag

This is a great bag as it is light-weight but has such capacity! It is easy to open and close and I added an inside pocket that closes with Velcro so I can keep a lipstick or extra house key where it won’t fall out.

Midori Fujii made one like this for me in December as a birthday present. I love it and finally got around to sewing one myself. I notice the fine points that she finished very neatly. I think she is a practiced seamstress!! I still carry the one she made and last week replaced the zipper in it.

What a thoughtful thing to do…to spend time making a hand-made present for someone else. Midori is a lovely lady!

With Midori Fujii

By the way, saikoro means dice in Japan. I assume the boxy shape gives it the name. Here is the basic pattern. Measurements are in centimeters!

Saikoro Bag Pattern

Why don’t you try making one?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. todaysillustrationtomorrow
    Jul 23, 2012 @ 12:45:36

    This saikoro bag is so cute! nice job!
    I appreciate handmade gifts more and more nowadays as it means a lot that they took time out of their busy schedule to make something for you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

