Za-isu Slip Cover

Since I’m alone and it’s still to hot to go out, I read Ernest Hemingway’s A Moveable Feast and made a slip cover for Japanese floor chair. The chairs are made of that vinyl fake leather which is so hot and sticky to sit on.

Slip Cover for a floor chair

These may not be a work of art, but it did the trick. I feel really cool now sitting there with my book! I have to make one more to day. I cut it out yesterday so now I can actually say” I have my work cut out for me!” Bad pun?

“Wave” pattern

This material is not antique but the waves are a traditional motif used on pottery and fabric from old times.

In traditional Japanese designs, the ocean and waves off the coast were a recurring motif. We see waves portrayed on screens, scrolls and fans. One of the most popular artist paintings is Hokusai’s The Great Wave Off Kanagawa. 

The Great Wave Off Kanagawa

In even earlier times, these wave patterns were used in weaving and other crafts. On the right is an example of simple sashiko embroidery using waves as a theme on an indigo blue cloth background.

Sashiko embroidery

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Today I will focus on getting the second slipcover done! One thought I gleaned from my reading this week was:

Choose your immediate objectives and don’t try to cover a large area of concerns at once. 

I will try to do so this week and hope it simplifies my life and helps me to accomplish more…one thing at a time!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. todaysillustrationtomorrow
    Aug 06, 2012 @ 12:32:53

    Nice job! I like you changed the fabric for the head area and sides. I’m impressed,
    especially b/c you didn’t even tell me about it when i spoke to you on the phone. hehe. I would be blagging if i had just finished this AND finished a book.

    Reply

  2. cheerfulwoman
    Aug 08, 2012 @ 20:50:06

    I love that “black waves” pattern. I think the sashiko embroidery example helps me with a quilt design I’ve been working on (in my head) for years, too. Japanese patterns are so amazing…

    Those sticky vinyl seats are indeed icky! I remember when car seats were all like that. Great solution!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

