Potted Plants

It’s popular here to plant small bunches of various flowers in a large pot together. I am not much of a gardener, that’s for sure. But last Saturday, Hiroo offered to take me to Akitsu Farmer’s market to get some seedlings for my flower pots.

The two big pots that set on the front porch were full of bedraggled petunias and desperately needed re-potting, so I gladly took him up on the offer!

 

Ready to plant!

I bought nine seedlings in all. Only 70 yen apiece! So when I got home I had to empty out the old flowers. Then I got a load of soil form the mountain in a wheelbarrow. I sifted it and them mixed it with potting soil.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

First I put some stones in the bottom as a filler. Then added the soil and leveled it out. I decided where each plant should go and went ahead and planted them. I put a taller plantin the middle of each pot and shorter plants around it. Then I gave them water with a bit of liquid fertilizer. They look good.

 

I hope they survive the hot weather and grow into pretty flowers blooming through the fall!!  We spend a lot of time out on the porch so it’s nice to have flowers there!!

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Becky nielsen
    Aug 23, 2012 @ 10:46:11

    Our garden looks a little bedraggled this time of year. we have a lot of lovely flowers for early summer but have to plan better next year for the things that come in later – and are deer proof. deer are becoming as common as squirrels in our neighborhood!

    Your pots look lovely on the porch. Hope they do well – sounds like you’ve certainly gotten them off to a good start!

    Reply

  2. leahmama1
    Aug 23, 2012 @ 11:00:38

    Thanks! WOw! You are troubled by deer..we are too! They can jump over a 1.5 meter fence and love to eat our spinach and greens! I wish I could go and see your community garden sometime!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

