In His Image

Since man is made in the image of God, every human being is worthy of honor and respect.

 

I found these words in an old commentary on the creation of man and they struck me as important.

These words mean something to all people, but as a Christian, they mean something special to me. God created each of us in His image with a soul that seeks to know him. It also means that I have forfeited my right to discriminate against any human being or to look down or judge another person. When I chose to follow Christ, I gave up that right.

I remember one day in the doctor’s office 30 some years ago. I’d brought my daughter to the pediatrician. There is always a long wait in Japanese doctors’ offices. As I was waiting, I observed a young woman holding a baby with its head lolling backward and shouting at her other child using rough dialect. I reacted and thought, “What kind of a person is she???!”

Immediately, I felt that God spoke to me. ” She is a person that I love. She is a person I died for.”

 

The Crucified Christ, Rubens

I was suddenly very ashamed of myself for passing judgment. I’m sorry to say that I sometimes still do it. But I hope God will continue to call it to mind, to remind me of who I am ( a sinner!) and how much He loves each person around me!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Becky nielsen
    Sep 16, 2012 @ 11:56:27

    yup, those nasty little judgements just pop right into our heads, don’t they? Realizing this about ourselves keeps us humble!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

