With A Little Help from my Friends

Eggs Benedict

Eggs Benedict

I hope you had a Happy Easter! We don’t celebrate it in Japan except for at church. This year we planned a Easter Brunch Cooking Class with a similar menu to 2 years ago…but with a different bunch of ladies. This time we held it at church! And 17 women attended. We made Eggs Benedict, Lemon Poppy Seed Scones and Tomato Soup.

With Setsue and Yayoi

With Setsue and Yayoi

I never could do this on my own, so I definitely had help from 5 other women. Below is a picture of my kitchen staff. They worked hard for 2 days to bring it off!! Their efforts were rewarded as everyone commented on how elegant the 3 courses were and loved the Hollandaise Sauce!

Kitchen staff: the power behind the scene

Kitchen staff: the power behind the scene

I hadn’t done this in two years so I really didn’t have confidence. I worried about it for several weeks, but I needn’t have worried! Tomoko,Mitsuko, Yoshiko and Yoko had everything in control. And of course our pastor’s lovely wife Junko had the timing down pat! Each group of women made scones and then I demonstrated making the sauce and preparing the other dishes!

 

Yoshiko loved the Hollandaise Sauce!

Yoshiko loved the Hollandaise Sauce!

 

We all had a lovely time! I thank the Lord for enabling it!

We all had a lovely time! I thank the Lord for enabling it!

I passed out a brief questionnaire so I could ask what else they were interested in doing or what kind of food they wanted to cook. One woman wrote that she was so glad to learn the hints for making layered scones! Several said they’d definitely make the Tomato Soup and everyone agreed that the Eggs Benedict were excellent and so much easier than you’d expect!

Easter2014 023

I was able to talk about Easter customs in America, the Easter Parade on Fifth Avenue, Easter egg hunts and how my mother always made me a new dress for Easter! Then I shared what Easter means to me…the chance for a new beginning…symbolized by the egg…a new life. Christ died and was resurrected so we also can have new life.

The Bible says

Therefore,if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come! All this is from God who reconciled us to himself through Christ…

When I was 23, God gave me a chance to start all over again. I had pretty well messed up and was at a deadend in my life. I called out to God and He heard me, and forgave me… then gave me a chance to start anew. He can do the same for you!

Resurrection

Resurrection

So…Easter is a very happy time in my book!!

Easter2014 010

The church I attend is a little church but, with God’s help, we can do anything!! Let’s do it again!! If you live in HIroshima, please join us for cooking next time!

Leave a Reply

