A Golden Time

The first week of May is called “Golden Week” in Japan as it is a long holiday for everyone! This year from May 3 to May 6th is a national holiday, but our vacation began on April 30 when we came to Yasuura farm. So far we’ve had no visitors and spent a busy but relaxed time together.

April 30th

We arrived about noon after doing our grocery shopping on the way. Hiroo ran up the  hill to check on his seedlings and I prepared lunch…udon noodles!

Udon Noodles

Udon Noodles

I was enjoying the nice weather and finished reading my book, North  and South by Elizabeth Gaskell. I found this on the list of “1001 books you should read before you die.” I had never heard of Gaskell at the time, I have to admit. Now I realize she wrote “Cranford” which was made into a great BBC series with Judi Dench!

Relaing in my Hammock chair with a good book!

Relaxing in my Hammock chair with a good book!

May 1st

A loave story set in a 19th century mill town.

A love story set in a 19th century English  mill town.

The next  day, I rested and looked online for good places to eat in Kyoto.I also made Amanatsu Marmalade from these big tart “oranges” given ot us by our friend.   In the evening I made Mexican food which is one of Hiroo’s  favorites. Green Chicken enchiladas and Spicy Rice with chicken and chorizo!

Spicy Rice and Green Enchiladas

Spicy Rice and Green Enchiladas

Golden Week 001

Amanatsu Mikan Marmalade

May 2nd

I got an early start and baked a loaf of Anadama Bread. It has cooked cornmeal and molasses in it.The story of how it got it’s name varies but they say Anna was a lazy wife and seldom did the cooking so her husband had to bake his own bread and in his anger cried, “Anna, damn her!” and christened the bread. Anyway, it turned out nice. I was outside all morning scrubbing down the porch so I could oil stain the logs and also the deck. I t took most of the morning to get it done but it was a satisfying feeling. Now i am ready for the rainy season in June!!

The logs have to be oil stained once a year!

The logs have to be oil stained once a year!

In the afternoon, we drove to  Higashi Hiroshima to a home center to look for straw mats for the deck. Out of luck, we had to buy plastic ones. When we got home, we had a quiet Japanese dinner. Hiroo went to bed early and I sat up watching “As Time Goes By” on youtube. I’m really into this BBC situation comedy with about a 60-ish couple who are reunited after 38 years! Great show!

May 3rd

I slept in. Hiroo was up at 4:00 AM. (What is it with these elderly people who get up so early and go to bed at 9:00 PM!?) Had coffee and bread with marmalade for a change. I am getting tired of the Atkin’s diet!!

Fresh rhubarb!

Fresh rhubarb!

Anyway, I cut some rhubarb and made a Rhubarb Cake from the internet. It turned out pretty good. The cake itself is quite sweet which makes up for the chunks of very tart rhubarb in it!! Good enough to make it again!

Southern Rhubarb Cake

Southern Rhubarb Cake

We had planned to go fishing today but the sea is rather choppy. We watched a young couple launch their portable motor boat and then come right back in . Poor kids! For all that , it is a sunny day so We aired all the futon getting ready for Debbie to come !

Futons hung out to air!

Futons hung out to air!

We were able to eat lunch out on the deck for the first this year! There was still a nippy breeze off the ocean, but we enjoyed the food out in the fresh air! Hiroo tried the rhubarb cake and raved over it! SO I guess this recipe will be a keeper!

Lunch al fresco

Lunch al fresco

May 4th

Today was a lovely day! Sometimes the “yellow sand” from China drifts over us and obscures the islands under a dense fog. But today,the air is clear and the sky so blue. Hiroo invited me to go fishing and it has been a long time since I went!!  We left at about 8:45.

I caught one!

I caught one!

Fishing 010 I was the first to catch a fish! ( gizami in Japanese) The current was strong so sometimes it is hard to tell when you get a nibble. Together we caught 12 fish in two hours, but it was a lot of fun. It felt good to be out on the sea on such a day! It has been a lovely week but we go home tomorrow. It is seldom we have such along stay out here together. But I want to do it again.

Two old people discussing their catch!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Risa
    May 05, 2014 @ 11:53:14

    How the Anadama Bread got it’s name really cracked me up! Heheh… How did you like North and South? I read it a couple of years ago and thought it quite good. I’ve yet to read Cranford…

    Sounds like you’ve had a lovely holiday! 😀

    Reply

  2. leahmama1
    May 05, 2014 @ 14:19:38

    It reminds me of Pride and Prejudice the way the two thought they disliked each other but you knew they’d end up together. I believe Gaskell worked with the poor in Manchester and used that as the image for Milton. This is the first I’ve read by Gaskell and I enjoyed it once I got into the story. What are you reading now?

    Reply

  3. Keiko Shiratani
    May 08, 2014 @ 01:19:04

    お元気ですか?ケイコです。
    先生の映像や、コメントをいつも楽しみも読んでいます。
    英語で文章を書こうとしましたが間違えていたら恥ずかしいのでJapaneseです。
    先生に会いたいです!

    Reply

    • leahmama1
      May 08, 2014 @ 02:45:17

      Thanks for reading it! I miss you too! How does Taichi like his new school? ブロッグにコメントをもらってうれしい!あんまり読む使途がいないでしょう。だからととえもうれしい!早く新しい環境になれますように!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

