Organizing your Closet

I am not gifted with my hands nor good at crafts, but I recently met someone who has done some amazing things in her house, particularly with organizing shelves and drawers. I never have enough space to keep things. We are now in the middle of remodeling and I was forced to clean out junk before the workmen came! Here are some things I am just now realizing.

My ideal as seen in a magazine!

My ideal as seen in a magazine!

Throw away what you don’t use. Periodically clean closets and drawers eliminate the excess. Be drastic in disposing of whatever you really don’t need or use. Don’t be sentimental! I f you must keep some mementoes, make a scrapbook or a “memory” box for those items.

Create your own boxes. My friend used leftover wallpaper to cover cartons. She reinforced the area inside where she wanted to attach a knob or handle. She recommended I use two-sided tape and felt to cover the bottom of the box so it slides easier on the shelf.

 

Cover cartons with wallpaper or contact paper. Use double-sided tape and felt to cover the bottom

Cover cartons with wallpaper or contact paper. Use double-sided tape and felt to cover the bottom

 

Harumi used a candle to heat the plastic and make the marbled effect on the knobs.

Harumi used a candle to heat the plastic and make the marbled effect on the knobs.

Be inventive. Find ways to store more things in smaller spaces. I would have just had a stack of magazines on the coffee table shelf, but Harumi made storage boxes to goon the bottom shelf and added a skirt to hide them. The skirt is held in place by adjustable curtain rods !

Another tip I learned from Harumi is to cover damaged areas on my cupboard doors with contact paper. I am eager to try this next. The door isn’t on our new closet yet, but here is what it is shaping up to be.

Closet in the making...

Closet in the making…

If you have any other ideas on how to store my stuff. please let me know or send me a link!!

A special thanks to Harumi for giving me these extra boxes and advice on how to finish them! I’ll never be as neat and efficient as she is, but I hope I am making progress. It’s good to either move or remodel occasionally to motivate us to throw things away!

Lunch break!

Lunch break!

 

This is what my house looks like now!

Living in chaos for over 10 days!

Living in chaos for over 10 days!

New wallpaper!

New wallpaper!

We have lived like this for 12 days so far! I hope the end is in sight! I’ll show you the finished rooms next time!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. todaysillustrationtomorrow
    Jun 19, 2014 @ 02:21:16

    This is helpful- Harumi has some great organization tips! I wish she can come to my house and help me organize!! I wish you have the before picture of the closet…i know what it used to look like, and i couldn’t believe to see how it’s shaping up to be now. Unrecognizable!! Keep up the good work!!

    Reply

  2. Keiko Shiratani
    Jul 03, 2014 @ 10:17:53

    こんにちは!お元気ですか?
    リビングのリフォーム楽しみですね!
    どんなのにしようか悩むのも楽しいですね!
    どんなになったか見たいです!!

    Reply

  3. leahmama1
    Jul 03, 2014 @ 21:23:13

    I’m so happy to hear from you!! I miss you !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

