40 Days in Another Country

 

I make a living by teaching English to women who like to travel abroad and so want to polish their language skills. Many of them travel to Europe, Australia the U.S. and other more exotic locales. I must admit I admire their efforts and their stamina. Several are older than I . But I am still not over my jet lag and am very glad to be back on “home soil!” (in Hiroshima)

Building a 100 story house with Try

Building a 100 story house with Try

 

I enjoyed being with my grandson Try in LA for a short visit. Especially building Lego and going to feed the ducks!

 

I really enjoyed the three days there and cooking vegetarian food with Yukie! We made a great pastry with goat cheese and asparagus, peppers and pesto! Cooking together was lots of fun!

 

 

AmercaOctober 223

You’ve gotta see a picture of our great creation!

Ours and theirs

Ours and theirs..it was  delicious!!

 

Avocado Bruschetta on CIabatta Bread! Wonderful!!

Avocado Bruschetta on Ciabatta Bread! Wonderful!!

Watch this space for the recipes for Avocado Bruschetta with cilantro!!

After that I flew to Philly.  I was coming down with a cold in LA and it caught up with me in Philadelphia, I guess. I came down with one heck of a migraine and was sick as a dog for one day!

My grandson Eiji was born on October second. He is a big, strong boy! I am thankful for his safe arrival. He is a beautiful baby!

Meeting Eiji for hte first time!

Meeting Eiji for the first time!

I had many great experiences in the U.S. I was able to attend a library book sale in Media,PA and buy quite a few used books to mail home. One of the highlights of my trip was meeting the people at The Japanese Church of Philadelphia and meeting Pastor Mary Zambrana! It is great to know we have fellowship with other Christians wherever we may meet! I especially am grateful to Pastor Mary for encouraging me when I was upset and for praying for me!

The Japanese Church of Philadelphia

The Japanese Church of Philadelphia

They have a play group for Japanese kids at this church on Wednesdays which is a great help to Japanese mothers living there. I truly hope the little church can raise money to build a playground on the premises. Maybe my grandson can play there and learn to speak Japanese too!

New friends at the church, pastor Mary on the right

New friends at the church, pastor Mary on the right

In spite of all these good times, I am so glad to be home. I don’t think I could live in the U.S. again. Hiroo and I lead a quiet and simple life here.  I feel I belong where I am..my country of 42 years and I will live out my life here , even though I miss my kids and grandkids so much. Maybe I am just too old for such a long trip. The flight home did me in!! I will just stay put and wait for the kids to visit me from now on!!

Baby shower (post-baby)

Baby shower (post-baby)

 

Nicole's daughter is 6 months! Look at her stand up and try to walk!

Nicole’s daughter is 6 months! Look at her stand up and try to walk!

 

 

Aleah and Sarah

Aleah and Sarah

Also I really am grateful to Debbie and to Annie for the wonderful party they held for Eri and baby Eiji! It was really special and I so enjoyed meeting so many friends and family there! Thank you guys so much!!

 

 

 

 

Thrilled to see you, Kim!

Thrilled to see you, Kim!

 

Great party, Debbie!

Great party, Debbie!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thank you, Annie!!

Thank you, Annie!!

Let’s not leave Dad out!!

The Thompsons at home

The Thompsons at home

It was great  to see  you all and I’m very grateful for your kindness and love for Eri!

Leave a Reply

